Sunday, October 26, 2008

my fall break

Okay, so I know that I've been depriving all of you of the stories of my life this past week. And we all know I have a pretty interesting life....
Yesterday, we went to Kristin's color guard competition at Bay High. The competition was the Florida Bandmaster's Association competition. Here's my comments on everything I saw...

Bozeman had by far the best Drum Major. He was very entertaining to watch. It helps that it was a good show as well. They performed songs by the Eagles and they did really well. Their color guard also had really cool flags on one song. They had the regular flags on top and then a little pennant flag on the bottom. It was really cool looking.

Liberty performed a gospel show. While they did do a good job, I couldn't get passed the fact that the Drum Major seemed just a little too fruity for a gospel show.

Freeport was the smallest band that I saw and it struck me as funny that they had 1 man with 4 bass drums. they also had the strangest hats EVER! The drum major had one kind, the tubas another, and the rest of the band yet another. It was quite crazy. Too add to it, the color guard was wearing Hawaiian shirts which made sense since the band was doing Jimmy Buffet songs, but seriously, couldn't they have gotten the school colors instead of blue and yellow? Make it at least match! I did like them singing "Cheeseburger In Paradise" and it was cool that the entire audience started singing at the same time. Really really cool.

Next up was Walton. We think they were performing Cirque de Soleil music. Or rather we hope that it was Cirque music. That's the only way it would make sense that they were dancing with giant exercise balls.

Marianna was pretty good. I'm still trying to figure out how Green Day's song "Holiday" fits in a show that's pretty much all Beethoven, but oddly, it worked. My friend Sean was sitting with us at this point, and as soon as he saw the majorettes step out on the field he started making comments about how he doesn't like the way that majorettes march. It was pretty funny.

Arnold: I was very happy to see the band member in the wheelchair. It was sorta refreshing. However, I didn't care for the rest of the show too much. I didn't mind the music but when they incorporated marching into it, they got a little dangerous. The color guard was trying to take out the band members it seemed like since they hit different members at 2 different times. And to top it all off, the band seemed a little claustrophobic at one point. It wasn't as great of a show as I was expecting

Rutherford was the next band at bat. Now I was interested in watching this one because my mom's best friend's daughter was in this color guard. They did very well. I just have to point out that it was very Broadway-y. That's not necessarily a bad thing, I just didn't expect to see jazz hands at a band competition.

Bay High made me very happy when they performed Bon Jovi's "Wanted" and did a good job of it. I do have to say that at one point there was a color guard member that did a pop that was WAY above everyone else's pops. That would have been fine if it hadn't messed her up by getting her counts off.

Mosley was the last band and as happy as Bay High's turn at performing Bon Jovi made me, imagine my joy at hearing 2 Bon Jovi songs in the same performance. This band was by fare the best overall and their scores reflected that with strait Superiors.

I just have a couple more comments to share...
What's with people wanting to perform West Side Story? I think the judges should have counted off for any songs from West side story. It's ridiculous.
And also why do people like to stand and sit in the pathways and not even move out of other people's ways? Not cool, random people that made me mad. Just not cool.
And I didn't get to comment on every one's performances since i forgot that i had a pen. he he.

Until next time...
Peace, Love, and Chicken Feathers!

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

tales from work

Well, most of you know that I work at the local middle school as a tutor. I never quite know what to expect when I show up at work. It could be anything from the normal of working endless algebra problems and running around the school to get textbooks and anything else that the teachers and students need, to the random of looking up native american large houses (not long houses). It never fails that something will happen to catch me by surprise.
Anyways, from my mundane life to others...
My bestie just got a new truck! Yay!!! Considering her old car didn't have air conditioning or brights and would randomly start smoking from the hood if you were in it too long or it just wanted to act crazy, this is a huge step up. And it's a new truck, to boot! I can't wait till I get to ride with her in it!
One of my closest guy friends right now (the marine for those of you who are trying to figure out who I'm talking about) is always keeping me guessing. I never know what will be said when I talk to him on the phone. I'm dying for him to come back down on leave. I think some of those things that we talk about would be alot better if we could talk about them in person. It's pretty hard to comfort someone when you can't see them or give them a hug. Over the past few months I have gotten a lot better at paying attention to how emotion is evident in people's voices. I can now tell automatically if this friend is upset, tired, happy, frustrated, or mad whenever he answers the phone. I wonder what mood he will be in when I talk to him next?
Okay that was a random topic...
Next!
Anyways... is it weird that I'm actually looking forward to math competition? I guess that's the true test of a math geek. If you can do 74 problems of derivatives and still want to go to the math competition, then you have officially lost it and have become a crazy math geek. Not weird at all...
Okay that's all the random rambling I can do today. I'm fixing to have to leave to go pick up my sis and eat so I'm out of time.
Until next time...
Peace, Love, And Chicken Feathers!

Thursday, September 18, 2008

incoherent thoughts that are overrunning my mind.

Okay so here's the deal. I've been having like major mood spurts here lately. I can go completely feminist to not really caring too much in about 5 seconds flat this week. It's crazy. I also have been thinking way more than i should, and if you know me than you know that that's a common problem. I have found myself going round and round in circles in my head and frankly I'm making myself dizzy. It's driving me insane. I don't know what the arrow will be pointing to when and if it finally stops spinning but I'm curious to find out.
I'm so sick of circles. Squares work so much better.
I can't even think straight enough to write a decent blog that makes sense. But then again if you know me, and considering the whole 5 people that read this blog regurely know me pretty well, then this blog will make perfect sense for the simple fact that you are already used to having to translate nearly everything i say into a coherent thought.

hey can i help it if there's this cute guy sitting across from me in the library at chipola?

Monday, September 15, 2008

My request

Okay so I have finally broken.
I'm so tired of hearing girls and women complain about guys who hurt them and then turn around and they still want to go back with them. I can't say that I am innocent of this but I am going to make a deffinate effort to change. I know women are strong and can change the world, but I also know that we can't do that if we don't stand up for ourselves. So make an effort. Walk away from that jerk who doesn't treat you right. And don't look back. Don't let some man control you and fight for yourself. Don't be a doormat and don't listen to anyone who says that your not good enough. We will never win the fight for equality if we're fighting as nothing but a doormat that wants to be swept off every so often. Be who you are and no one else. You deserve to be able to stand tall. Don't let anyone tell you that you don't.

Saturday, September 6, 2008

Firemen

I have recently discovered that my life has been overrun by firemen. We are doing a play this week called "The Guys". It is based on a true story and takes place 10 days after September 11, 2001. It follows a journalist/editor who is recruited to help a New York City fire captain write the eulogies for 8 of his men that were lost forever in the World Trade Centers. The story is really moving and is the most serious play we have done thus far. Since the play opens Tuesday, we have all been going crazy getting ready for it. And just so you know, by all I mean the two actors in the play, the director, assistant director, stage manager, and me, the lighting technician. Now we have also added a spotlight controller and the projector controller. thats seven students and one teacher going crazy for one play that's about an hour and a half normally and about 2 hours including all the video. Not to mention that I have somehow nominated myself to do the PR for the play, which includes going around town asking complete strangers to hang up posters and writing letters to mail out to all the local firehouses (18 of them). It's alot of work, but also something that I have found out that I enjoy doing. I love being backstage. It's a lot of fun to see all the ins and outs of the play from every side.
Anyways, with all the talk about firemen with the play and reading a book by Nicholas Sparks called The Rescue which is about a firefighter, I have really started thinking about all the things that a firefighter does. It's kinda crazy to think that when everyone else is running away from the burning building, there are people that are running into willing to do whatever it takes to save lives and prevent excessive damage. These people are the ones that keep us safe and the ones that we know that we can count on no matter what. I always knew that they were heros. It was something that I've always accepted. But, until recently I never really thought about just how heroic these ordinary men doing extrodinary things really are. I'm so in awe of everything that they do right now.

Sunday, August 31, 2008

Confusion to the nth degree

You know how sometimes you feel like you can not possibly get anymore confused? Well I reached that point the other day. And just when I was certain that I had reached that point, life got even more confusing. Two guys who have told me that they love me in 30 minutes. Talk about overwhelming. Did I mention that they are both my ex-s? I deffinately don't have that kind of feelings for the first one, but the second is more complicated. He's my first love and I honestly still love him. I just don't want to get stuck running around in endless circles which is what I'm scared to death is what is happening. We have already went out 4 times. When is enough enough? When do we finally say that we don't need to give it another shot? And what if we really are meant to be together? Man, life is so dadgum confusing sometimes!

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Local haunts anyone?

Okay so i'm really interested in the paranormal as most people know. I'm wondering if any of you know of any haunted places in the area. I'm talking about those places that have stories about ghosts haunting them so everyones scared to go around it. Just leave me a comment if you know of any. Thanks!

Tuesday, July 8, 2008

Nair and prepare

So I just tryed the new Nair product Shower Power. Just a word of advice...save your money. It costs almost $7 at Wal*Mart. And that doesn't last. I had to use half the bottle in one sitting. For those of you who aren't so quick on the math, that's $3.50 everytime I decide to get rid of the hair on my legs. That's crazy. Plus one of the reasons that you use a product like nair is to avoid the pain involved with shaving. My legs feel like I've got a serious case of razor burn. I'm not too happy. And it didn't even remove all of the hair. Urgghhh!!! I'm sticking with a razor i guess. I'm so frustrated.
Now I've got to go pack so that i don't have to wake up at 3 in the morning to get ready to leave.
I can't believe that in 33 hours i will be on a plane for the first time ever! I can't wait!

Wednesday, July 2, 2008

My new obsession

Okay so on my way to school every morning I have started listening to a new radio station. Well new for me anyways. It's "That Guy" Kramer on Island 106. Which is actually 105.9 on my radio dial. It makes me mad cause at about 10-14 miles from my school the show starts getting static-y and i feel like I've missed something if it goes out for even a minute.
I have to confess that i only found the show because i was flipping stations when there was nothing else good on the air at the time. The hosts, Kramer and Holly, really caught my attention. I can't remember what they were talking about at the time but i know that it was pretty funny to listen to them go on in that bantering style that is normally hard pressed to find on a radio show. I have now found myself automatically turning my radio to see what their talking about every morning when i get in my car, around 8AM.
So here's a recap of the topics covered so far this week:
Monday - Holly got her first bikini wax. Very interesting to hear them talk about that one. They even had audio from the waxing that they played on air. Very Very interesting. Check out the audio at least. You can check out the video if you want, but I haven't watched it yet so I don't know how interesting it is.
Here's the link:
http://www.island106.com/Article.asp?id=772281
Tuesday - Kramer had found a study somewhere that 22% (?) of women in San Francisco would prefer to eat certain foods than have sex. Kramer found this unbelievable (or should i say impossible?) while Holly strongly agreed with the statement. Since I've never experienced the second option, I can't really have a valid opinion on this now can I? Holly followed her agreement with the statement with the best endorsement for The Melting Pot (a fondue restaurant) that I have ever heard. The Melting Pot should seriously hire Holly to do all of their commercials. I want to go to The Melting Pot now. And I've never had fondue.
Wednesday - The end of the world. According to the Mayan Calender, the world is going to end on December 21, 2012. For those of you like me who are wondering why December 21 would be pulled out of a hat to end the world, this is the date of the winter solstice. I mean seriously, why not wait till the end of the year. If I was in charge of the end of the world, I would end it on something like December 22, 2012 just to throw everyone off. Wouldn't that be ironic? I mean if the would ended we would all be dead so we wouldn't care about the irony, but it would still be there. I agree with the first caller on the topic. If your going to say that the Mayans are backed up by the bible on this one, at least let's throw out there the fact that the Bible says that the end of times will come like a thief in the night. That means that the Bible's not going to say that "Hey guys, just so you know, everything is going to end and you better get yourself prepared" And how do you expect to be prepared for the end of the world anyways? How far do you expect canned food to last? If it takes as much as it does to prepare for a hurricane, what would it take to prepare for something like that, THAT WOULDN'T END!?
So what will be talked about tomorrow? I wish I knew. Too bad I don't have school tomorrow.

Saturday, June 28, 2008

Wanted: Five Guys and a Burger

So tonight me, my mom, and my stepdad went to see the movie "Wanted". It was a really good movie, and it had me laughing to myself at times when things probably only really seemed that funny to me. Like seeing Mr. Tumnus from Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe (James McAvoy) shooting people as an assassin. Or watching Angelina Jolie boost cars like she did in Gone in 60 Seconds. All she was missing was the blonde hair. I strongly recomend going to see it. It's like one of my favorite Angelina movies ever. And i'm amazed at how versitile James McAvoy is as an actor. I mean he was a half-goat in Narnia, a late-18th century romancer in Becoming Jane, and now a trained assassin in Wanted. I'm fascinated.
After the movie, we went to Five Guys and a Burger. The burger was really good even tho they didn't put the bacon on my bacon cheeseburger. I could have done without the fries, which is weird since my mom just keeps going on and on about the fries. Maybe next time we can save and just get one meal and she can eat the fries and i'll eat the burger. Hehe.
A plus of the day...I got an email from my wonderful boyfriend!!!! Yay!!!! His email's been down this week so this is really really cool.
Can't wait to see what tomarrow brings.
Gotta go watch The Girls Next Door.

Friday, June 27, 2008

A Car Part Ordered Later...

Okay so to continue on the drama that is my car, my stepdad (a former car mechanic) looked at my car and diagnosed the problem. So we had to go to the dealership to order a new fuel sender thingy that i don't even know what it is. A grand total of 34.20. I do get to save like $200 by getting my stepdad to put it in instead of the dealership. Somewhere along the day i found out that i'm fixing to have to get all new tires on my car. Yay! Another $420 to look forward to! Can't wait. Oh by the way, I'm obviously going to have to get another job, so if anyone knows of anywhere hiring let me know. Cause i'm fixing to need to have more cash then i'm getting working 10 hours a week during the school year as a tutor. Woohoo.
A very big positive to the day was that i got to talk to my boyfriend on the phone. Like actually hear his voice. Not just depend on texts. Don't get me wrong i love texting. It's a great way to preserve my sanity during the long breaks that we can't talk on the phone. And it allows me to talk to him while at work. Okay so it gives me a way to gossip with him while i'm supposed to be working. hehe. Gotta love modern day technology.
Hey by the way, my check book is finally balanced. Like down to the penny. Me and my mom spent most of the afternoon on the search for 5 pennies. Yes we did spend HOURS looking for 5 whole cents. And it worked cause after about 3 hours looking for the missing pennies, those pennies were found. Yippee!
Now I think it's time to admit I have a problem. I am addicted to sweet tea. I guess there's worse things to be addicted to. But I did just drink a whole beer pitcher full of sweet tea since 7 tonight. Yeah i know that's pretty sad. I can't help it. I love sweet tea.
Okay now i've rambled on about just about everything. Only one more topic left. I'm reading this book called "Email to the Front". It's a really interesting book. It's made up of emails that the author and her husband sent back and forth during her husbands two deployments with the navy. I swear that if me and terry end up getting married and then one of us got deployed for some reason, these would be the emails we would send each other. Sometimes they are the emails we send. Going on about the craziness of day to day life. Venting about random crap because he's the only person who understsands enough not to hold it against you that's not going thru everything with you first hand. I can't help but laugh when they went to the bartering method that me and terry use so often. "You can use all of our emails to write a book, but when it makes you famous and rich, I get a brand new mustang." Yep, just ask terry. This is so a convo that we would have. And baby if you read this like i've told you to, back me up on this one.
Okay I'll pretend like i'm tired of writing, and i'll quit. Yay you can have a break from reading my ridiculously long blogs. Go You. Woot.

Thursday, June 26, 2008

Puke, Pot, and Skydiving

Okay so here's a recrap of hte day i had today:
I woke up at 7:30 A.M. to the sound of the most annoying alarm clock EVER. You know those ones that make the loud BEEP BEEP BEEP sounds? well mine does that but it starts out at the normal speed, then slowly speeds up to the most annoying BEEPing ever.
Next on my itenerary was my classes at college that i'm taking this summer. Economics 1 came first and it was a pretty good class, even tho we had a quiz when we walked in. I managed to get 13 out of 15 bonus points out of it tho. I figured that was pretty good. And i managed to completely confuse my teacher with my favorite movie. I put The Man in the Moon on the quiz and when my teacher read it he thought i was talking about some Jim Carrey movie called Man on the Moon and he asked me if i was an Andy Kauffman fan. I told him i didn't have a clue who he was talking about. That provided a laugh for everyone. The rest of the class went okay until about 10-15 minutes before the end of class when i all of a sudden got this cold sweat that came over me and started feeling sick to my stomach. I just kept thinking that i really didn't want to have to get up in the middle of class and run to the bathroom and hoping that i would make it to the end of the class before something came out. I don't even remember what was said in the last of the class but by the grace of God we got let out like 2 minutes early. I then grabbed my stuff and rushed to the bathroom, promptly throwing my stuff down on the floor of the stall and puking. Luckily i rang the toilet so i didn't have to clean up a really disgusting mess. Thank goodness! Anyways, I felt like crap at this point so when i collected myself enough that i felt comfortable leaving the toilet behind me and walking outside, i stole the plastic garbage bag out of the little metal trash can that they have on the stall walls and stuffed it into my purse in case i started to get sick again. At this point i realized i had missed the begining of my second class and i hate to go into class late + i was still feeling like my body was mutiny-ing me so i didn't want to risk it.
So feeling like crap, even after i talked to my mom on the phone to let her know i just threw up in the college bathroom, i headed to bonifay to go to my granny's house to try to rest before i had to be at work so that i could try and feel at least a little better. When i reached her house i found that she wasn't there. So i headed to my papa's house and realized he hadn't returned from his trip yet either. Woohoo! I was stuck in town for another hour with no where to go. So what do i do? I head to Burger King to see if i can eat without getting sick. I order a whopper jr. and begin to wait. And wait. And wait. 30 minutes later i finally get out of there and head to work. When i'm right around the corner, my dad tells me that he just got into town and wants me to meet me at McDonalds, where he's going to get lunch. Well, since it was his birthday and was bring me some medicine, i figured it was best to go meet him. I did make it to work on time and was starting to feel better. Work even went okay. I got to talk to my friend Kari that i haven't seen since we got out of school for the summer. So that was an upper. A very short lived upper, but an upper none the less.
So why was this upper so short lived, you ask? well when i parked my car at work I had 3 quarters of a tank of gas. When i got in after work, my gas light was on and the gas gage was pointing to a place below Empty that it shouldn't even be able to point to. How can you be less then empty? and if you are empty how are you still able to drive? That's like when i fill all the way up it tells me that i'm over the full line. It doesn't make sense. But that's another rant for another time. Anyways, i called my mom, who told me to call my dad. I then called my dad who told me to go to the car shop thing by the railroad tracks in town and ask them about it. They said i don't have a leak, but that they couldn't fix it, and that in order to fix it I would have to go to another shop and they would have to take out my entire gas tank to fix the problem. But my cars okay to drive so i went ahead and drove home. Hoping and praying the whole way that i wouldn't run out of gas and have to call someone to come pick me up. Well i made it home without any problems. And oddly enough the light went off as i was headed out of town and then came back on about 20 minutes from home, just to go back off about 15 minutes later. When i parked at home it was off, but will it still be off when i crank it back up? Hmmm, I wonder.
So I explained the puke, but what about the Pot and Skydiving? Well they both come from my Economics class. My teacher has this hobby of skydiving so almost all of his examples and stories have something to do with skydiving. And the ones that aren't focused on skydiving? Focused on pot and cocaine. It's kinda funny. He says it's because he doesn't want to ignore the number 1 cash crop in america or the industry that sells it when he's talking about america's economy. It's pretty funny to me. Everytime he mentions drugs we just all kinda giggle to ourselves. It's a pretty funny class.
Oh and one more thing...my theorem of the day: when you're on your period, anything and everything that can go wrong, will go wrong. Take that Mother Nature! I figured out what your game is.

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

Diezel Doodle

I have the best miniature bulldog ever! Don't believe me? watch these videos.










now do you believe me?

Health Risks of Myspace

Okay so I made the mistake of telling my mom that myspace is technological crack without the health risk. This ofcourse started us coming up with the health risks of myspace. So here's our list (mostly mine). Hope you enjoy!

1. bed sores - from long hours of sitting in one place for too long
2. Carpal Tunnel Syndrome - From the most repetitive action ever - filling out those 20 bulliten surveys a day.
3. Eye Strain - from staring at the computer for long hours
4. Addiction - you know you give up other things that you could be doing online so that you can check your myspace.
5. Nutritional diffeciencies - Who eats a salad while you're sitting at the computer? Who are you kidding? It's potatoe chips. I can see you, you know.
6. Muscle Decrease in your legs from not working them while you're proped up on the couch or sitting at your desk.
7. Depression - due to the lack of endorphins from sunlight that you would normally be in if you weren't sitting on your but inside on myspace.
8. Exhaution - you know doing nothing makes you even more tired. Just admit it.
9. Loss of Vocal Chord Use - from not actually talking to people because you're too busy messaging them to not call you because you aren't able to talk anymore.
10. Death - due to not going to doctor because you can't find him on myspace. I mean who doesn't find medical help online now?
11. Starvation - because you don't want to get off your little addicted butt to go get a sandwich to make the hunger pains go away. You idiot!
12. Broken bones - from checking your myspace on your high-tech phone while your walking around and you fell down the stairs
13. Concussion - from your significant other hitting you with a frying pan because you forgot to pay your bills because you were filling out a survey and your water was turned off right before the entire PTA comes to a dinner party at your house. But you did pay your electricity bill so that you would be able to have power in order for your computer to work. Why didn't she commend you for that?

So next time you check your myspace account, stop and think about whether it's worth the risk.
Happy Myspacing!

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Hello All!

Okay i've been feeling the need to blog here recently and myspace just seemed too plainjane. So here are some things that you need to know. I'm a study in personified controdictions. And you can just expect to encounter some really randomm comments to come out in this blog. So stay tune. You never know what's next.

p.s. check out my mom's youtube page. And watch the video's of my dog, Diezel. They're hilarious! www.youtube.com/melaniemalone