Friday, March 26, 2010

Soft spot

So I'll confess. I haven't gotten on my blog since September. I actually moved on to another blog that I'm doing with one of my best friends about movies. And I only thought to get on this one because my wonderful boyfriend started a blog and I logged on to post a comment on it. But of course, me being me, logging on made me look at what I had posted last, which was about a dog ban in New York that I am completely against, and my brain working like it does, this got me started thinking. Well, in all honesty, I have been thinking about this for a while now.
I just don't understand how people can throw out their pets. My sister and I went for a walk last Thursday night down our road with our puppy just to have a little bit of sister time. On our way back, imagine our surprise when an adorable little puppy just walked right up to us with this look in his eyes like "Help Me!" Well, my sister and I are both big animal lovers, so of course we had to do something. My sister scooped up the puppy and we took him home with us. There were no houses around where we found him besides ours and our neighbor's and they don't have any puppys so we know it didn't come from around where we found him. After convincing our dad to let us keep the puppy on the back porch over night, we frantically searched for a new home for our precious find. I wish that I was allowed to have pets in the dorm building that I live in so that I could have taken him myself, but since that wasn't a possiblity we were forced to call every number we could think of trying to find a home. All the local shelters were full so we weren't exactly sure what we would have done if we couldn't find a home. Litterally 10 minutes before the time ran out on the deadline that my dad gave us to find it a home, the mom of a guy I graduated with agreed to take the puppy. I felt so proud as I loaded up the puppy with a towel for him to cuddle with, a treat for him to snack on during the drive, and a bag of puppy chow and took him to his new home. When I delivered him, the puppy instantly bonded with it's new owner. I was a little nervous knowing that they already had a few animals, but even they instantly took to the puppy. Since they have had the puppy, they have named him Ender, begun to spoil him, and have posted lots of pictures and even a video of the precious puppy. I feel so proud to have had a part in saving this adorable puppy. We think it is a Catahoula Hound Dog and it is doing great.
This has really made me think about how much I really want to help animals. I hate the thought of animals being abused or neglected and want to do anything in my power to stop it. One day I hope to open up a shelter and to rescue alot of dogs and cats personally. I hope that other people will follow suit and help out any animals they come across.
Not able to rescue pets yourself? Try going to freekibble.com to answer two trivia questions a day to donate kibble to shelters to help feed shelter animals. Hope you help out!
Peace, Love , and a bottle of orange juice!
-Ashlee

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Dog ban in New York

This morning I picked up my free copy of the New York Times on my back to my dorm after my 9 o'clock class. While scanning the headlines I saw this adorable picture of a pitt bull named Denim from Manhattan. Well, of course being a total dog lover I just had to read the article that went with it. The article, "Large Dogs in Public Housing Are Now Endangered Species," shocked and dismayed me. It describes a ban that was enacted in May of 2009 that prohibited people that live in public housing from owning dogs larger than 25 pounds. The owners were forced to surrender their dogs or else face the possibility of eviction. The New York City Housing Authority has stated that the ban is a response to complaints about dangerous dogs. I say that this is their attempt to make a devestating occurance even more devestating. Yes, children have been mauled or killed by large dogs in apartment buildings, I acknowledge that. I am fully aware that these occurances are horrible and should never occured. However, I also acknowledge the fact that most likely those dogs that attacked people were trained to be agressive, not kept on leashes, or were owned by people who could not handle them physically. Pitt bulls can be just as docile as any other dog. To punish the entire breed because of human's stupidity in training them to be aggressive is simply barbaric. As a result of this ban, 113 dogs have been surrendered to "shelters and centers run by Animal Care and Control of New York City, the nonprofit group that has a contract with the city to take in unwanted animals." That's not what gets me, though, it's the fact that "49 have been euthanized, beccause of illness, behavior or lack of space." Lack of space? Why not find a shelter that has space? Or a foster program like the Animal Rescue Center of Bay County to take in the extra dogs? I'm sure that there are shelters or programs that are no-kill closer to New York. I'm curious about whether these dogs ever even stood a chance. Were they posted on the internet? Did the owners of the shelters that took them in do everything in their power to avoid having to euthanise these animals? Or did they just sit back and watch the clock tick by until they could get rid of these dogs once and for all? 59 dogs were able to be adopted out. Why weren't more? That's only 52% of the dogs taken in that were adopted out. Three dogs were able to be reclaimed by their owners, and two dogs still remain in shelters. I pray that these two remaining dogs are adopted soon so that they do not have to face the same fate as their counterparts.
Where do we draw the line? Does the New York City Housing Alliance get the privilige of telling residents what days to take their trash out on? what about vacuuming? If I lived in New York, would I have to check with the Housing Alliance before taking a shower? Would I be allowed to have a child without checking in with them first? Do they not realize that dogs can be a part of the family? That they are sometimes your only friend, your comforter? I wonder if any of the people that are a part of the Housing Alliance own dogs. How would they react to us telling them that they are not allowed to have Fido, the golden retriever that they have had for the past 7 years. The pet that they have showered with their love and have watched grow throughout the years. I bet that they would not be so accepting of this new rule. But wait! This person walked Fido in the park last week and Fido looked scary to the 3-year-old playing in the sandbox. Does anyone else see the crazziness of this? I'm I all alone on this one? Why not just require all dogs, regardless of age, size, or breed, to go through intensive training? Why punish dogs based on there breed or size? Is the Housing Alliance just trying to proove how prejudice this country can still be?
I am so dissapointed...

If you would like to read the article yourself pick up the September 23, 2009 issue of the New York Times or go to http://www.nytimes.com/2009/09/23/nyregion/23dogs.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=large%20dogs%20in%20public%20housing%20are%20now%20endangered%20species&st=cse

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

wow... 1st posting in 6 months...

this is crazy... i completely forgot about posting on this... so weird...
so i'm going to college in about a month and a half...
my friend katie jo just got a blogger and told me that i needed to start posting again, so if i go 6 months without posting again tell her to get on to me about it... it worked this time so maybe it will again...
so...
one of my biggest pet peeves that i haven't blogged about is public bathrooms, like in restaurants or theaters or stores, that don't have a hook or shelf to put your purse on. I mean really, how hard is it to add a hook to the back of the door so that women don't have to put their purses on the dirty floor? Is that too much to ask?
anyone else have a pet peeve you want to share?
peace, love, and fried chicken tenders!
ashlee

Friday, January 2, 2009

A Brand New Year...

So it's finally 2009!!!!

Yay!! It's finally the same year as my graduation!! I feel like I've been waiting for 2009 to get here for the past 12 years or so...oh wait! I have!! Silly me!

I can't believe I'll be 18 in a few months! It's almost unfathomable!!!

So what's my first project of the year? Paiting the garage and house of course! Our garage and house are both this weird shade of stucco right now. The best way I can describe it is as a skin tone. Not very appealing on a house and garage. So now it's getting painted a darker brown. I actually like this color, even tho i'm pretty sure that it's the same color I painted some flats for "The Guys" earlier in the school year...

That brings up another topic... I'm the assistant director for the spring play, "Into The Woods"!!!! I'm so excited!! I've done lighting, acting, props, spotlight, and set building so this is almost the only role I haven't explored so far. I can't wait to delve head first into this play. I hope that it's one of hte best we've done. It's a really great play (Bernadette Peters was in the original production) and it's deffinately going to be a challenge, but I think we're up to it. That's right, folks, I really do have that much faith in the people involved in our plays. No doubt we'll be working our buts off untill then but hey, we knew exactly what we were getting into when we decided to take on this play. I'm sure everyone who actually reads this blog will actually hear most of the details as the play progresses...

So that's the end of my first blog of 2009... I won't end it with a period... instead it gets a too be continued...the year has just begun and my story's not over yet...

Until then...
Peace, Love, And A Bacon Cheeseburger!
...

Sunday, October 26, 2008

my fall break

Okay, so I know that I've been depriving all of you of the stories of my life this past week. And we all know I have a pretty interesting life....
Yesterday, we went to Kristin's color guard competition at Bay High. The competition was the Florida Bandmaster's Association competition. Here's my comments on everything I saw...

Bozeman had by far the best Drum Major. He was very entertaining to watch. It helps that it was a good show as well. They performed songs by the Eagles and they did really well. Their color guard also had really cool flags on one song. They had the regular flags on top and then a little pennant flag on the bottom. It was really cool looking.

Liberty performed a gospel show. While they did do a good job, I couldn't get passed the fact that the Drum Major seemed just a little too fruity for a gospel show.

Freeport was the smallest band that I saw and it struck me as funny that they had 1 man with 4 bass drums. they also had the strangest hats EVER! The drum major had one kind, the tubas another, and the rest of the band yet another. It was quite crazy. Too add to it, the color guard was wearing Hawaiian shirts which made sense since the band was doing Jimmy Buffet songs, but seriously, couldn't they have gotten the school colors instead of blue and yellow? Make it at least match! I did like them singing "Cheeseburger In Paradise" and it was cool that the entire audience started singing at the same time. Really really cool.

Next up was Walton. We think they were performing Cirque de Soleil music. Or rather we hope that it was Cirque music. That's the only way it would make sense that they were dancing with giant exercise balls.

Marianna was pretty good. I'm still trying to figure out how Green Day's song "Holiday" fits in a show that's pretty much all Beethoven, but oddly, it worked. My friend Sean was sitting with us at this point, and as soon as he saw the majorettes step out on the field he started making comments about how he doesn't like the way that majorettes march. It was pretty funny.

Arnold: I was very happy to see the band member in the wheelchair. It was sorta refreshing. However, I didn't care for the rest of the show too much. I didn't mind the music but when they incorporated marching into it, they got a little dangerous. The color guard was trying to take out the band members it seemed like since they hit different members at 2 different times. And to top it all off, the band seemed a little claustrophobic at one point. It wasn't as great of a show as I was expecting

Rutherford was the next band at bat. Now I was interested in watching this one because my mom's best friend's daughter was in this color guard. They did very well. I just have to point out that it was very Broadway-y. That's not necessarily a bad thing, I just didn't expect to see jazz hands at a band competition.

Bay High made me very happy when they performed Bon Jovi's "Wanted" and did a good job of it. I do have to say that at one point there was a color guard member that did a pop that was WAY above everyone else's pops. That would have been fine if it hadn't messed her up by getting her counts off.

Mosley was the last band and as happy as Bay High's turn at performing Bon Jovi made me, imagine my joy at hearing 2 Bon Jovi songs in the same performance. This band was by fare the best overall and their scores reflected that with strait Superiors.

I just have a couple more comments to share...
What's with people wanting to perform West Side Story? I think the judges should have counted off for any songs from West side story. It's ridiculous.
And also why do people like to stand and sit in the pathways and not even move out of other people's ways? Not cool, random people that made me mad. Just not cool.
And I didn't get to comment on every one's performances since i forgot that i had a pen. he he.

Until next time...
Peace, Love, and Chicken Feathers!

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

tales from work

Well, most of you know that I work at the local middle school as a tutor. I never quite know what to expect when I show up at work. It could be anything from the normal of working endless algebra problems and running around the school to get textbooks and anything else that the teachers and students need, to the random of looking up native american large houses (not long houses). It never fails that something will happen to catch me by surprise.
Anyways, from my mundane life to others...
My bestie just got a new truck! Yay!!! Considering her old car didn't have air conditioning or brights and would randomly start smoking from the hood if you were in it too long or it just wanted to act crazy, this is a huge step up. And it's a new truck, to boot! I can't wait till I get to ride with her in it!
One of my closest guy friends right now (the marine for those of you who are trying to figure out who I'm talking about) is always keeping me guessing. I never know what will be said when I talk to him on the phone. I'm dying for him to come back down on leave. I think some of those things that we talk about would be alot better if we could talk about them in person. It's pretty hard to comfort someone when you can't see them or give them a hug. Over the past few months I have gotten a lot better at paying attention to how emotion is evident in people's voices. I can now tell automatically if this friend is upset, tired, happy, frustrated, or mad whenever he answers the phone. I wonder what mood he will be in when I talk to him next?
Okay that was a random topic...
Next!
Anyways... is it weird that I'm actually looking forward to math competition? I guess that's the true test of a math geek. If you can do 74 problems of derivatives and still want to go to the math competition, then you have officially lost it and have become a crazy math geek. Not weird at all...
Okay that's all the random rambling I can do today. I'm fixing to have to leave to go pick up my sis and eat so I'm out of time.
Until next time...
Peace, Love, And Chicken Feathers!

Thursday, September 18, 2008

incoherent thoughts that are overrunning my mind.

Okay so here's the deal. I've been having like major mood spurts here lately. I can go completely feminist to not really caring too much in about 5 seconds flat this week. It's crazy. I also have been thinking way more than i should, and if you know me than you know that that's a common problem. I have found myself going round and round in circles in my head and frankly I'm making myself dizzy. It's driving me insane. I don't know what the arrow will be pointing to when and if it finally stops spinning but I'm curious to find out.
I'm so sick of circles. Squares work so much better.
I can't even think straight enough to write a decent blog that makes sense. But then again if you know me, and considering the whole 5 people that read this blog regurely know me pretty well, then this blog will make perfect sense for the simple fact that you are already used to having to translate nearly everything i say into a coherent thought.

hey can i help it if there's this cute guy sitting across from me in the library at chipola?